Cleaning Time

I am probably the last person to jump on this bandwagon nevertheless I thought I would share it here today anyway.   I have been hearing and seeing great things about a DIY cleanser using things you already had at home.  So I decided to give it a try.

The instructions were to combine equal parts of Dawn dish detergent and warm vinegar.  Pour both into a spray bottle and gently swirl to mix the two together.  Then spray down your tub/shower area and let sit 1-3 hours.  Everyone said the scum would wipe away!

Well since our tubs were in desperate need of a good scrub I decided to give it a try.  (Complete with embarrassing before photo’s!)

So here was the BEFORE:

shower1

Then I mixed up our solution.  A word of caution:  OPEN ALL WINDOWS etc.  this stuff is VERY smelly.  I ended up placing a rag over my mouth and nose to try to keep the stench out of my lungs!

I let mine sit about 2 hours.  Then I took a rag and literally gently wiped down the surface.  I was amazed at how much came off with very little effort!  I did have to scrub a little on the grout to get the blue out.  However the tiles were smooth and you could feel they were clean.  Fantastic!

Here is the after.  Can you see the line between where I sprayed and didn’t?

shower2

Aside from the smell not to bad!  It really did do a wonderful job cleaning up some of the soap scum that had been building up.

 

 

This entry was posted in For the Home, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

