Gratitude (Part 1)

via:today’smama.com

Today I am sharing an activity I did with my 8 year old girls church group.  I LOVE November and the opportunity it gives us to realize how blessed we are and to show our Gratitude to those around us.   In light of this I decided to share this love with the girls I teach.

This activity fell under the category Learning and Living the Gospel bullet point 10 in their Faith in God books.

To start I shared “My Thank – You Song” by Elise B. Palmer in the November 1986 Friend p 39.    As a group we talked about if there was anyone in our life we could say Thank you to and show our Gratitude for.

mythankyousong

We discussed how the scriptures talk about the importance of giving thanks for our blessings.  I also shared several scriptures and quotes from church leaders.  One of my favorites was this one by Joseph B. Wirthlin

“Gratitude is a mark of a noble soul and a refined character. We like to be around those who are grateful. They tend to brighten all around them. They make others feel better about themselves. They tend to be more humble, more joyful, more likable…. “

(“Live in Thanksgiving Daily” Ensign, Sep 2001, 6)

Next we talked a little bit about Thanksgiving and why we celebrate.  Together we made Thanksgiving Blessing Mix.

Supplies:thanksgivingmix2

  • 1 bag of Bugles
  • 1 bag of Pretzels
  • 1 bag of Candy Corn
  • 2 Bags of Sunflower Seeds
  • 1 bag of raisins
  • 1 bag of M&M’s
  • 1 bag of Hershey’s Kisses

 You can find the information on how to make it HERE. 

via:Organized Christmas

(Truthfully I didn’t measure we just used 1 bag of everything except for the sunflower seeds and we used 2.)  They also have links for a printable to go on your bags.

 thanksgivingmix

Come back Friday to read about the rest of our fun activity!

If anyone is interested I can email you a pdf copy of the “My Thank-you Song” pictures I have.  I think they came from the original Friend article (mom can you verify this?) 🙂

Just leave me a comment and I can send what I have your way.

This entry was posted in Activity Day, Cooking, Fall, Holidays, Kids, Seasonal, Thanksgiving, Treats. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude (Part 1)

  1. Mom says:

    They did come from a Friend, I enlarged them. Copied them. And colored them myself. If you have the original set it should have said which Friend on the envelope.

Leave a Reply

