zucchini Crepes

Last week I decided to try my hand at altering a family favorite recipe slightly to create a new meal and use up some more of the OODLES of zucchini
I have coming off the garden.  I will apologize up front that my pictures are less than great.  Since I wasn’t sure it would turn out I wasn’t too picky about them.

In the end we loved the new version.  Rather than wait for good pictures
I decided to just roll with it.  I hope you give it a try!

zucchini_crepes

Chicken Zucchini Crepes

Adapted from: My mom’s crepe book growing up (Sorry couldn’t find the name!)

Ingredients:

  • 1 batch of Crepes (recipe below)
  • 1 batch of filling (recipe below)
  • 1 batch of topping mix (recipe below)

1.  Place a spoonful of filling in crepe and spread out along the center.  Then fold edges of crepe over mixture.

2.  Place on edged cookie sheet.

zucchini_crepes4

2.  Repeat until all crepes are filled

3.  Spread topping mixture over tops of crepes

4.  Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese

zucchini_crepes5

5.  Broil in oven until slightly browned and bubbly.

Crepes

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 1/4 milk
  • 1/4 melted butter

I mix mine up in my blender.  Then refrigerate for at least 1 hour before cooking.

zucchini_crepes6

Chicken Zucchini Filling

Ingredients

  • 4  1/2 cups cut up zucchini
  • 1/3 cup cheddar cheese
  • 2 cups chopped chicken
  • 2 cans cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
  • 3/4 cup sour cream * optional

1.  Cut zucchini to your liking.  I sliced into about 1/3 inch rounds and then quartered them.

2.  Saute and or steam zucchini until tender.  (Be careful not to over cook or it will be mushy!

3.  In a medium saucepan mix all ingredients and cook until mixture is hot.

zucchini_crepes7

Topping

  • 1/3 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 TBSP milk

Blend mayonnaise and milk together.  Then spread over the top of crepes and sprinkle with cheese.

zucchini_crepes2

Now don’t start adding calories and start cooking 😉

This entry was posted in Chicken, Cooking, Main Dish, Seasonal, Summer, Zucchini. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

