Refashion Friday

Hello!  I hope you are all having a fabulous Friday!

Today I thought I would share a quick little refashion I recently did.  For those of you that have followed this little ol blog for awhile you might recall this dress:

skirt_refashion_3

If  this is new and you want to learn more you can click Here.

Well truth be told it just never fit right and didn’t get a lot of use.  After several failed attempts to fix the arm straps I just gave up . . . until now!

Purplicious and I decided to experiment and see if we cut the top off if we couldn’t somehow salvage the skirt.  I wish I had pictures of the between stages it was scary for a bit!  But I do have the final reveal

skirt_refashion1

A beautiful new skirt that she loves and will actually wear instead of the frumpy dress I just couldn’t figure out how to make cute like the original idea.

Here’s a quick rundown of what I did.

After chopping the top off I stretched each shirred section to roll the fabric down and stitch it into place

skirt_refashion2

leaving in it’s place a new ruffled waistband!

skirt_refashion4

This entry was posted in Kids, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

