Scripture Owls

Today I am sharing a little project I have had in the works for awhile.  In my church group I work with the 8 year old girls.  They have a Faith in God book that we use as a reference to plan activities.  If you want to learn more click HERE   I love working with these girls they are a giggly energetic bunch!

scriptureowl

Over the last couple of months we have been working on creating Scripture Owls in between other projects.  This passes off one of their goals for Developing Talents:

Make an item from wood, metal, fabric, or other material, or draw, paint, or sculpt a piece of art. Display your finished work for others to see.

I also hope it helps motivate / remind them them to read their scriptures.

To start I searched owl images until I found one I liked and thought we could replicate.  I then created a pattern and handed it over to my husband.  He got out the scrap wood we had around, the jigsaw and clamps and started cutting! (Thanks for the tools Mom & Dad!)

scriptureowl3

Next when the girls came they picked an owl and got to sand and stain it.  We stained the entire back

scriptureowl5

and just the edge on the front

scriptureowl4

The final step to completing our creation was to pick a background paper.  Trace our owl shape and cut it and the poem out.  I used the             cuttle bug dies to create the circles for the eyes.  We used Mod Podge to glue everything together.

scriptureowl2

For the poem and scripture owl idea I was inspired by this.  I did tweak it a bit so here is our final rendition:

I’m just a little scripture owl.
I’ll sit above your bed.
It’s my job to remind you
that your scriptures should be read.
As you see me here
at the start of each new day
remember scripture study
will guide you
through your day

I also found a terrific scripture reading chart HERE from Holly’s Corner under Activity Days that I printed out for each girl.  They colored it in and then I laminated it and attached a wax pencil for them to mark off each day they read and mark off each book as well.  Hopefully it will be a fun way to help them keep track of their scripture reading.

scripturechart

If you are interested in the pattern to make your own just leave me a comment and I will send you the pdf.

This entry was posted in Activity Day, tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Scripture Owls

  1. Hollyscorner says:

    Such cute little owls! 🙂 Nice to see ideas recycled with the calendar, everything looks great!

  2. K Smith says:

    Such a cute idea. I would love a pdf.

  3. D Bingham says:

    pdf please.. ADORABLE!

  4. Anna says:

    Hi could I get a pdf please? Thank you!

  5. treva strain says:

    I would love a pdf please!!

  6. Nana says:

    I would love a pdf please:)

  7. Sheryl says:

    I would love to have the pdf too. Great idea for my activity days girls. Thanks for sharing.

    Sincerely,
    Sheryl

  8. Rose Ann says:

    I would love to have the pdf too. It would be a great craft idea for my women’s retreat. Thank you for sharing.

  9. Natalie says:

    So cute would love the pattern

  10. Anna says:

    Could you email me the pdf please to! Thank you!

  11. Jan says:

    Such a cute idea! I love owls and would love the pdf! Thanks so much!

  12. Amy says:

    These are adorable. I would love a PDF

  13. Meredith says:

    I love these! Will you send me the PDF?

  14. Deb M. says:

    These are just too cute. Love them. I’ve been making prayer boxes for my nieces & nephews and these would be another cute idea to make for them. Is it OK to use your verse? Thanks so much for sharing. Merry Christmas!

  15. Karen L. says:

    Could I have a PDF please? Such a cute idea!

  16. Gracie says:

    This is just what I have been looking for my girls. I would love to have the PDF for this project. Thank you so much. Blessings!

  17. Arien Hubbard says:

    Hello!! This is super cute and Our girls would love these could I please have the PDF for the project!! Thank You!!

  18. Michelle says:

    Would Love a copy of the PDF!! Thanks!

  19. Naomi says:

    How cute are these! Thank you for the great idea; would you mind sending a pdf of the owl pattern? Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

