Cinco De Mayo Recap

Saturday was Cinco De Mayo did you celebrate?

(yes this is a test to see if my brother really checks this blog.  Please don’t rat me out) 🙂

We had a crazy Saturday but managed to squeeze in a little fun!

This year we tried a new Sopapilla recipe.  It was a hit!  It only took a little more planning than last years version you can check it out here.  The hardest part . . . planning ahead to let the dough sit at least 40 min. before you need to use it.  We happen to know that letting it sit longer didn’t hurt it either!

We used the Sopapilla recipe from the Our Best Bites Cookbook.  Unfortunatly the copy right prohibits me from posting the recipe 😦  However, I happen to know a lot of my readership (THANKS to both of you) 🙂 has the cook book or a library close by they could check it out from.

This is what our dough looked like after we rolled it out:

In the fryer.  The munchkins thought this was pretty sweet!

I will apologize now apparently we were too busy doing this . . .

yes stuffing our faces to take pictures of the missing steps.  This is as close as you get to a finished product:

Basically I dried the sopapilla’s on paper towels, sprinkled them with cinnamon and sugar or honey and added a dollup of whip cream ( or 2 or 3 when it got licked off)

Over all I think the BIGGEST hit of the night would have to be the whipped cream.  THUMPER was in AWE!

and if eating it off your finger isn’t cool enough you could try this trick . . .

That pretty much wraps up our Cinco De Mayo celebration!

Ole!

This entry was posted in Holidays, Kids, Traditions. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cinco De Mayo Recap

  1. Lisa says:

    That looks sooooooo fun! We ate at Cafe Rio! I am clearly not as cool a mom as you are! I am going to find that recipe and make it. Thanks!

  2. Jared says:

    I am highly offend by the insinuation that I do not read your blog! Happy late cinco de mayo….

    • Which~Craft? says:

      Hmmm Cinco de Mayo was in May??? OK so you are just 3 months behind. Good to know how long I have before your next check. You better hope I don’t get a hold of that skinny pant picture it just might make it on the blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

