1 hour whole wheat bread!

I have some interest again in my bread recipe so I have decided to post it here.  My family LOVES this bread recipe.  I LOVE that it is done in 1 hour (even with munchkins helping!)  From grinding the wheat to fresh yummy warm bread to eat in 1 hour!

Now I have heard from others who have tried this recipe you can 1/2 it and it will work (If you have a regular size kitchen aide I have it on good authority that the whole recipe is too much!) you can not decrease it to one 1 loaf and have it work.  I have also heard without a mixer it just doesn’t work either.  I have no idea since I honestly can’t see me attempting this without my tools!

So ready or not here we go:

1.) Grind your wheat.  I prefer a mixture of 1/2 hard red wheat and 1/2 hard white wheat.  This helps to make it a lighter bread.  It’s up to you experiment and see what you like best!  ~ if you grind too much no worries throw it in a bag in your freezer to mix in with cookies or your next batch of bread!  (Freeze it though to keep the oil in the wheat from going rancid!)

Now you are ready to make bread!
(I am going to apologize for the life of me I can’t find my photo’s for the first half of this tutorial.  But time is tight right now so it is going up as is!)

For a printer friendly version of this recipe, click here

Whole Wheat Bread

Add:

  •                 6 cups HOT water
  •                 2/3 cup honey
  •                 1 ½ Tablespoons salt
  •                 ½ cup gluten
  •                 5 cups whole wheat flour

Mix in bread mixer for 10 seconds.

Add:       3 Tablespoons SAF yeast

Mix in bread mixer for 10 seconds.

Add more flour until the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl. (@ another 5 or 6 cups)

Mix 4 to 5 more minutes.
While bread is mixing place a small amount (2 TBS maybe?) of oil on a cutting board or mat (whatever you make bread on!)  Then place dough on mat.

Divide dough into however many loaf’s you want to make! (For me I do 4 we like our loaf’s taller so I use a narrower pan and only do 4 at a time.  My mom happens to like their bread short and stout so she uses a wider pan and gets 5 loaf’s from this recipe)

Form into loaves.

Put in warm oven (the lowest temperature setting) for 9 minutes.

Turn oven to 325° F.  When the heating light goes out set timer for 25 minutes.

That’s it!

There you have it!  So easy and delicious!

This entry was posted in Breads, Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

