Making Lemonade out of Lemons

This week was rotten!  We were supposed to be heading off to visit Grandma and Grandpa but unfortunately one of the munchkins woke up sick in the middle of the night just hours before GO time!

There was much weeping and wailing and gnashing of teeth but in the end we survived.

Now onto the Lemonade . . .

My craft room A.K.A.  “the room of horrors” was in need of a MAJOR overhaul.  It had been on THE LIST    (I know you all have one!)   for ages.

Over the weekend we finally got to it.  Now I must say it is not the organized glamorous room that you see all over Pinterest.

But it is functional and has taught me that perhaps I am a bit of a craftaholic and need to cut back.  (You see I secretly envy some family members of mine that are WAY organized and quite minimalistic.  So neat and pristine!)

Anywhoo the first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem Right? 🙂

So the husband and I dove into the room of horrors.  We sorted, tossed and organized every scrap of fabric and the majority of the crafting supplies.  They are all neatly packed into whatever containers/shoe boxes were available.  (Slightly ghetto probably but hey the price was right!)

My favorite part of the whole project  . . . my fabric . . .  at the beginning of the year I found a post on Smashed Peas and Carrots about how to organize your fabric.  AMAZING!

You take your fabric and roll it around comic book boards which create mini bolts of fabric!  Then you can line them up side by side to see what you actually have and how to combine color options!  Another great thing they take up SO much less space organized this way.(I literally gained at least one extra shelf in the room!)

My stacks/piles of fabric are now orderly and grouped on the bookshelf!

If you want to read her entire post about it go  here

The only thing  I have left in the room of horrors is  to go back and place labels on all my odd containers so that it is clearly marked what goes where!

I think it is time to get going on some of those long lost projects! (recently rediscovered)

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Crafts, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

