Labor Day

Due to the holiday I gave myself the luxury of missing yet another Monday!  To make up for it here is our Labor Day recap:

I did a bit of this:

Yup Canning Season has started!

While all of us were under the weather for the week our garden got to go crazy.  We had lots of HUGE Zucchini so I made several batches of these.

My claim to fame.  I even altered our favorite recipe we got from a neighbor to make it a touch healthier.  I took out 1/2 the oil and replaced it with some of our homemade applesauce.  It made the bread super moist!  My next trial will be to take out some of the sugar and see if I can sneak some whole wheat flour in too.  All of the munchkins were living on these little treats this weekend!

Here’s the recipe if you want to try it out:

Zucchini Bread

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs Beaten
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups zucchini -grated
  • 3 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1.)  Preheat oven to 350 degree’s.

2.)  Mix sugar, oil and applesauce

3.)  Add Eggs, vanilla and zucchini

4.) Add the dry ingredients

5.) Mix well

Bake  Either 2 greased loaf pans for 1 hr or @ 24 cupcakes for 30-35 minutes.

 

We finished off our Labor Day with a fun visit from my SIL (who we will be featuring soon!)
and a game of this:

That wraps up our Labor Day.  How about you did you do anything fun or productive?
Do share!

This entry was posted in Breads, Zucchini. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Labor Day

  1. I printed this muffin recipe on Tuesday and made a batch. They are a big hit at my house! Almost all gone already! Thanks for the great recipe. Any other good ideas for extra squash? I have a great squash casserole that I make but I need more. Any zuchinni cookie recipies that work?

Leave a Reply

