Graduation dress & headband

I squeaked this one out just barely in time.  Purplicious had a school Graduation.  Naturally I figured this was a perfect excuse to sew.  The online tutorial looked easy enough.  Although despite my best intentions apparently sewing in the wee hours of the morning is just my sort of thing to do.  It was far from perfect but it held its shape and no seams came loose.  Purplicious LOVED it so HOORAY!

I found this tutorial here on Make it and Love it. Simple enough I thought.  Umm . . . perhaps not for the inexperienced sewer that I am.  It turned out to be a bit more of a challenge than I expected.  I never did get the top to work out how the pattern says.  After redoing the top elastic multiple times I opted to just put elastic all the way around and make the bow decorative rather than functional.  This worked for me.  The arm straps I am continuing to battle.  The day of they were a bit long.  I shortened them Saturday unfortunately I forgot to account for having to tuck in my loose end so I will be redoing those yet again this week!

I even made the matching headband!  It was SO simple.  A tutorial will be coming on that and perhaps a giveaway.  We will see how adventurous I am in the next couple of weeks.

We finished the festivities with a batch of these Woody friendly Graduation Day treats the whole family could enjoy.  In Purplicious’s favorite colors of course!

Hope you all have a Marvelous Monday!  (Especially if you made it to the end of this novel!)

This entry was posted in Crafts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

