Graduation Caps

When I saw this tutorial on Bakerella I wanted to try it out.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have a great excuse to make them.  Well the excuse presented itself this week and voila.  SO fun and EASY!  The trickiest part was finding ingredients.  I had to trade out a few because traveling around to multiple stores in hopes that they would have exactly what I wanted just wasn’t happening.

So here is my mini rendition of the original which you can find here.

Supplies:

  • Ghiradelli Chocolate Squares
  • Rips
  • Mini M&M’s
  • Mini Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
  • Chocolate melts
  • Sucker sticks (not pictured)
  1. Place PB cups in freezer to help them keep the chocolate on when you peel the wrapper
  2. While waiting for PB cups to chill pull out Rips.  Slice off one ridge.  They weren’t as long as I would have liked them to be so I rolled them out a little longer.  Be sure to put down about 1 TBS of sugar to keep them from becoming too sticky
  3. I decided to add some flare and carefully trimmed the Rips into 3 parts at the bottom to look more like a tassel.
  4. Remove wrappers from Reese’s.  Place on wax paper and let warm back up to room temperature.
  5. While those are warming you can make your tops.
  6. Melt candy melts.
  7. Attach mini M&M to center of Ghiradelli square.
  8. Use a toothpick to trace a thin line of chocolate from M&M to edge of square and place tassel on top.
  9. Allow to set up.
  10. Once Reese’s are at room temperature dip the end of sucker stick in candy melt and carefully insert into peanut butter cup.  Let set up
  11. Attach Ghiradelli hat top to peanut butter cup using candy melts (I just dipped the top in the melt and placed it onto bottom of hat.  Let set up.
  12. Voila fini!  Place in fun container

Want to see another rendition click HERE

I linked to here:

Craft Goodies

This entry was posted in Cooking, Treats. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Graduation Caps

  1. Emily says:

    Are these for Purplicious? Cause I can’t think of another opportunity presenting itself….They’re cute though! And I’m sure they taste great!

    • jpetersenfam says:

      Actually they aren’t for Purplicious but I am considering making some since they are doing a graduation and all! They were for a lady I visit teach who just got her Master’s Degree.

  2. Jan Messali says:

    These are the cutest things ever! I know someone who just graduated… now I can’t wait to see her, so I can make these! Thanks.

  3. Wendy says:

    These are so stinking cute! I’m in charge of pre-k graduatiuon next week, these would be so perfect. Thanks for linking and for sharing such a great idea!

Leave a Reply

