Chicken with Wild Rice

A few weeks ago I ran past a recipe in my book we hadn’t had in a while so I threw it into the mix.  I had forgotten how good it was!  Plus EVERYONE in the family liked it.  Even the munchkins asked for seconds (trust me that is saying something!)

You can find the original recipe here Below is my rendition of their recipe I beefed up the veggies and as usual left out the small onion.

Please don’t judge the picture.  Apparently I was having a blurry camera day.  The soup is long gone and batch #2 we dyed green in honor of St. Patrick’s day.  I don’t assume a picture of it would do much to make you want to eat it!

Chicken with Wild Rice Soup

Prep Time:  20 min.         Cook Time: 20 min.

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 Celery Ribs: Chopped
  • 3 or 4 handfuls of baby carrots chopped up (truthfully I pretty much just fill the bottom of the pot with veggies)
  • 5 1/2 cups water
  • 1 box long Grain and Wild Rice Blend
  • 1 Envelope chicken Noodle Soup Mix
  • 2 cans Cream of Chicken Soup
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked chicken, Diced

Instructions:

In a sauce pan saute together, the celery and carrots (I am sure there is a special way to do this I just throw them in and stir for a few minutes)

Add the water, rice and contents of seasoning packet and soup mix.  Bring to a boil.  reduce heat; cover and simmer for about 10 minutes.  Stir in soup and chicken.  Cook 10 minutes longer or until the rice and vegetables are tender.

One other thing I have found with this recipe whatever variety of Wild Rice you find makes a HUGE difference on how the soup tastes.  For us we really like Rice a Roni All Natural.  I have tried others and I am pretty sure that is the deciding factor if we like the soup or not.

So if your weather is possibly cold and snowy like us how about some yummy quick and easy soup for dinner?

Come back tomorrow for a terrific and fairly simple roll recipe that is Fabulous with this soup.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

